Day 92: Routine me up!

Today she is bang on 3 months old. She is the light of my life and the apple of my eye ball. She’s had it easy for the last 3 months and now it’s time for some routine.

I was keen to do a few things for her in her 1st 3 months/the 4th trimester, mainly to let her come into this world, get lots of hugs, sleep, love and to see what kind of routine she would naturally settle herself into. The only things we did not let her get away with from about 3 weeks in were 1) immediate attention, we’d wait to see what she was after before picking her up immediately and 2) I needed to do what I could to help her sleep at night (see previous post Day 48 on how we tried to encourage this) for me and for her.

Now I’m feeling that you’re a little more settled within yourself I’m hoping we can have a bit more order to the day. This is to allow you to get some quality time asleep so that your waking hours can be spent having fun rather than crying. This is also so mummy can have a bit of a life… not a massive one, but a bit of one… deal? Ideally this will allow me to cook a bit more, have some time to exercise and so that I have a less teary baby. The  most helpful tip I’ve found on routine thus far:

Babies should not be awake for more than 2 hours at a time. This is such a basic bit of info but I only found out a few weeks ago! Since then I have been putting Lo-Lo down for naps more often, she’s been sleeping better during the day and I feel she’s been happier/cries less. This does not sound like a significant piece of information, after all you still have the job of making them sleep. The reason it’s so important to know is that it’s helped explain why she cried so often, when you know the problem you can look for a solution.

This entry was posted in Health, newborn development and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 92: Routine me up!

  1. Pingback: Day 95: The importance of being Low-Low | Olive Redirected

Leave a Reply

