3.5 Months: This is what a bad day feels like when they cry

Morning nap cut short.

Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry.

Hug. Calm you down. Feed. You won’t be put down, you need to be held…. time for your lunchtime 2 hour nap. Cry. Cry. I try to calm you down, stop you from crying so you’re drifting off or asleep. The most annoying part of this? You are TIRED! You are VERY TIRED and with all the crying you become OVER TIRED. Because it is so obviously nonsensical it makes me very angry! And you Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. I try everything and you will not settle so I cave in as my ears are bleeding and I feed you. You fall asleep within a couple of minutes. I put you into your cot. You think about crying, but then pass out. Short nap + super tired for your lunch nap – surely this = a good long lunchtime nap? But I am trying to get you to sleep in your cot during the day as well as night rather than in our bed and you DO NOT LIKE IT.

 

30 mins later you Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry.

I have had enough. I go in to calm you down and rock you to try to help you sleep longer. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry.

I know I need you to sleep your long nap in your cot. If you’re in our bed you’ll sleep all your naps for the appropriate time, but the cot seems to be your enemy during the day. Well – you need to get used to it! If only for my sake for when you start rolling and crawling and climbing and walking. But WE NEED TO CRACK THIS. It’s beyond me that you can’t sleep in your cot during the day. I leave you to cry it out and you…

Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry.

and i mean you  CRRRRRYYYYYYY!!!!!!!

Eventually 2pm comes and you’re tired but much happier when I come to get you and calm down straight away. I feed you half an hour later. At 3pm you decide to kick off again. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. We get Lolo in as some distraction. Cry. Cry. Cry. Cry. Now it’s 5pm and you haven’t slept for AGES!!!! We rock you and exhausted you finally nod off… for 15 mins. Cry. Cry.

Part of me thinks – why am I bothering? If I just let you sleep in our bed. If I just feed you to sleep each time. But you can’t do that forever.

It is the end of the day and I am physically exhausted from listening to you cry all day. At least your sister would cry it out and eventually fell asleep but it appears you are driven and persistent in your own way. I am exhausted. I am tired. My shoulders slouched and I ache all over. My ears are still bleeding. I’m so happy you have gone to sleep, I am not looking forward to going through this with you over the next few days. Thank God for ear plugs.

 

This entry was posted in development, Early Days Baby, Sleep and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

