How do you stop breastfeeding?

There’s quite a bit of scaremongering about stopping breastfeeding. I get asked whether or not I was given tablets by the Dr to help stop feeding. I think if you needed to stop immediately and went from 4 feeds a day down to nothing over night you might need some help from the Dr. I went on a two day course whilst still feeding 4 times a day. He was 10 months old and I hadn’t expressed for an age. When I pumped, nothing was really coming out so I was still full by the end of day 1. By the end of day 2 I was full to the point of distraction – that achy, prickly feeling. I probably could have stopped completely after that course as it couldn’t have got any worse but I went home and let him feed that evening. Ah – relief! But I would say it took another 3 days for my milk to produce fully again as it had done before.

In the end I decided to waited until after we’d been on holiday (a week after the course) to start reducing the number of daily feeds. It was nice to have it as a back up but in truth I needn’t have worried. He didn’t notice. So I dropped the 2 middle-of-the-day feeds, almost at the same time. Then a week or so and I also let him have formula for his evening feed at 7pm before bed rather than from me. All that left was the wake-up feed.

The key for me, for both times with both Lolo and AJ, was to drop the feeds slowly. One at a time. That way my body gradually got used to not making as much. Then this Saturday morning he had his last feed in the morning. By Sunday night, they weren’t full but you could feel something was going on, a little prickling and a tiny bit of discomfort. I only really noticed when I thought about it. Then today, day 3, they seem to be feeling ok again. Normal. And just like that, the habit of a year, is over. It leaves a strange hole behind.

This entry was posted in Baby, Breast Feeding, development and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How do you stop breastfeeding?

  1. Valerie says:

    Dropping feeds as gradually as possible definitely makes the whole thing easier! I just shared my three weaning experiences as well – they’re all so different, just like all babies. 🙂 https://livinglighterinatlanta.wordpress.com/2016/06/02/weaning/

Leave a Reply

